Niger East Senatorial District Bye-Election August 30/September 6

January 30, 2015

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) rescheduled the Niger East senatorial by-election initially for August 30.

All political parties that indicated interest to join the race agreed with INEC for changing the date of the by-election from August 16th to 30th with the exception of APC which disagreed with the commission over the new date.

The following individuals were part of the candidates:

Dr. Shem Zagbayi Nuhu (Peoples Democratic Party, PDP)

Barrister David Umaru (All Progressives Congress, APC)

Isa Mohammed (All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA) and

Abdullahi Shuaibu Dikko (Social Democratic Party, SDP).

Eventually, the August 30 by-election was declared inconclusive due to electoral malpractice in some polling units. Hence, a re-run was held a week later (September 6) in polling units located at Bosso, Chanchaga, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi and Shiroro local government areas.

Consequently, the election result was announced by the returning Officer, Professor Wole Morenikeji. After collation, Shem Zagbayi Nuhu (PDP) was declared the winner with 92,056 votes while David Umaru (APC) closely followed with 87,405 votes. Isa Bello (APGA) had 2,185 votes while Abdulahi Diko (SDP) scored 419 votes.

However, David Umaru of APC petitioned the tribunal challenging the declaration of Shem Nuhu of PDP by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as the winner of the by-election.

In a judgement that lasted for hours on friday, the National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal in Minna upturned the result of the election and decided that the APC candidate was the winner of the election

As a result, Niger state now has 2 APC Senators (Niger East and Niger North Senatorial districts), while PDP holds on to its control of Niger South Senatorial district.

Senator Dahiru Awaisu Kuta died on June 12, 2014, leaving the seat vacant.