Nigeria Senators League

June 12, 2015

‘We shall strengthen our capacity for public engagement as well as broaden access for inclusion’ – Bukola Saraki

On Tuesday, the 8th Nigerian National Assembly was inaugurated with PDP’s Ike Ekweredu (Enugu West) retaining his position as the Deputy Senate President.

Former Governor of Kwara State, Bukola Saraki, who now represents Kwara Central at the senate, was elected unopposed as president of the 8th Senate in a session which had 51 of 109 senators in attendance.

![Senators League](


"Senators League")

The House of Representatives’ chamber on the other hand, had 358 members present for the election process. In a tight contest, Yakubu Dogara (Bagoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa) defeated Femi Gbajabiamila (Surulere I) to become the Speaker of the 8th House of Representatives.

Consequently, Yusuf Lasun (Irepodun/Olorunda/Osogbo/Orolu) was victorious against Mohamed Monguno (Marte/Monguno/Nganzai) in the tie to decide the Deputy Speaker.